HighFatLowCarbRecipes

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Fish Tacos sans Tortilla

on August 20, 2016

Okay, I know this seems illogical, but the title Fish Dish just doesn’t cut it, and the fact is my new favorite way to eat fish comes from a fish taco recipe. I used to think fish tacos sounded terrible; fish-plus-tortilla did not compute. But I tried one for the reason it was the least bad option I had at the moment, and to my surprise it was delicious. The regular recipe was battered deep fried fish (firm white fish of some kind) wrapped in a flour tortilla with the condiments I will mention shortly. They had a gluten free option which was broiled fish on a whole corn tortilla, so I went with that, and enjoyed it so much that I had to make my own good version. You could use a thinned version of the soul bread recipe I posted to make a faux tortilla, but frankly that’s more calories than my aging body can handle. You could also use lettuce leaves to mimic the tortilla.

Fish Mocko-Taco Recipe

Grill, broil, or sauté your favorite fish; I use cod or halibut. I use about 4oz per person.

Place on a bed of shredded/chopped napa cabbage or similar, 1-2 cups.

Top with a bit of sugar-free pickled onions (see my recipe), scallions, chopped tomato,  and drizzle with a liberal amount of my chipotle sauce (or similar). It is the chipotle sauce that makes it both spicy and delicious.

LCHF Chipotle Sauce

1/2 cup mayonnaise or good olive oil

1-2 Tablespoons canned chipotle sauce or chipotle powder– or to taste

1/2 teaspoon garlic

1/4 teaspoon salt

Opt: dash of cumin

Blender works best to get the right consistency. Sauce will keep for weeks in the fridge.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

