HighFatLowCarbRecipes

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Have You Met the Wedge Salad?

on November 12, 2013

While it seems I have known this incredible salad forever, I only got acquainted about eight years ago. I don’t know how long it has been around but in the form I know it, I think it is not that long. One reason I initially avoided it was the very high fat in my pre-HFLC days. Another was iceberg lettuce. I used to hate iceberg lettuce because it had no real flavor and was bitter.  Organic iceberg is another story. My spouse loved this salad, so I decided to make it better with safer and tastier ingredients. This is now one of my favorite salads, and it easily packs for an away meal.

Bonus: Iceberg has great crunchiness.

The Wedge

one serving

one quarter head of organic iceberg lettuce

2 slices crisp bacon, crumbled

1 tablespoon blue cheese dressing (Marie’s or homemade)

1 ounce blue cheese crumbles

1 Tablespoon scallions or chives

opt: diced tomato

Assemble attractively.

opt: chop lettuce and mix with toppings.

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION:

Amount per Serving
Calories 311
Calories from Fat 249.1
Total Fat 27.68g
Saturated Fat 10.34g
Cholesterol 33.33mg
Sodium 710.96mg
Total Carbohydrate 6.55g (net 4.3)
Dietary Fiber 2.2g
Sugars 2.18g
Protein 11.13g

Leave a Reply

