HighFatLowCarbRecipes

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

My Best Meatloaf

on March 22, 2013

Okay, meatloaf can be a bit boring, at least to some people. I love meatloaf, and make it all the time with beef, turkey, chicken, pork, but usually not mixed together which is traditionally the way to make it. But, I’m a little lazy about some recipes so I tend to use whatever is at hand in the moment, and figure the meatloaf will taste good regardless; which it usually does. Recently, though, I bought some field grazed ground pork, mixed that with some grass fed ground beef, and found what for me is the perfect mixture.

Also, I find keeping dehydrated veggies like red and green sweet/bell pepper, tomato, onion stocked in my pantry keeps me from losing too many veggies, and I like the bit of additional flavor the drying process adds. You could use fresh, too. So here is my recipe.

1 pound ground pork

2 pounds ground beef (85% is the best value)

one egg, beaten slightly

2 tablespoons of psyllium powder to bind (or you can use chia seeds &/or coconut flour)

1/4 cup dried peppers (I have a mix of red and green)

1/4 cup dried onion

2 tablespoons dried tomato

1 tsp garlic power

1 tsp salt and pepper

First add enough hot water to cover the dried veggies and let sit until it is well re-hydrated. (You can skip this step, but I think the flavor was improved by a a little soaking.)

Mix the meats together well, then add the re-hydrated veggies along with the slightly beaten egg, spices, and binder. I put on rubber gloves and do this by hand.

Place the mixture in a large loaf pan (I use a Corning War glass pan). Sprinkle top with some paprika for color.

Bake at 375F for around 40 minutes, or until internal temperature is 160 degrees.

Five minutes or so before the time is up, I spread my homemade ketchup over the top, since I prefer a meatloaf with ketchup.

I sliced mine into 10 big pieces.

Leave a Reply

