HighFatLowCarbRecipes

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Eggs are My BFF!

on December 22, 2012

Eggs are my best friends forever! My belief is that eggs would have been one of the easier to obtain, and most important, foods of our prehistoric ancestors, which is why every culture I’ve read about eats eggs of one kind or another.

I really love eggs and eat them nearly every day. Anytime I have a craving I can’t pinpoint, I cook some scrambles, and all is well.

Here are some of my favorite egg dishes:

Boiled, fried, poached (the best), baked, scrambled(with ham, sausage, cheese please), pickled, deviled.

Custard, flan, quiche, egg-drop type soups, faux bread/muffins, egg bakes with whatever is handy.

One of the quickest breakfast meals I’ve made for company, which gets the biggest raves, is essentially the following, since I don’t follow any written recipe it is open-ended:

Eggs- 2 per person–beaten well.

Add any breakfast meat diced up, along with a little onion (dried, fresh, scallions), sweet peppers for color; plus if I have any leftover green veggies like broccoli or asparagus I dice that up and toss it in. Using some of my low carb bread substitute (I used to use toasted bread) I cut than into pieces and put on the bottom of a casserole dish, then pour on  the meat-veggie-egg mixture, and top the whole thing with lots of shredded cheddar or colby jack cheese. Bake at 375F 20-30 minutes or until a knife comes out clean,  Serve with some salsa for a filling and tasty meal.

Leave a Reply

