HighFatLowCarbRecipes

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Save the Fat!

on November 2, 2012

When you cook a pot roast, or oven roast any meat, save the fat and juices that accumulate in the pot and use them for chili, stews, or to add flavor to burgers, meatloaf, etc.

I cooked a big sirloin roast readying for Hurricane Sandy to hit (which happily we got very little besides heavy rains), and after slicing up the meat, I poured the juices and fat into a jar, then tonight when I decided to make a pot of chili, I scooped out the fat and browned the grass fed ground beef, onions, and peppers, then added the juices along with more beef broth for a really rich tasting chili.

I find I’m using fat so efficiently these days that I don’t have to use much butter or coconut oil except for baking. Good-bye to all those vegetable oils that don’t do us any good. Hurrah for the fats!

Leave a Reply

